12
Jan
09

Fingers crossed

My last post about being ill seems a bit pathetic now!

After spending Christmas itself at Tom’s parents, the day after Boxing Day we travelled to Worcester to see my family. My parents had the ‘flu, my Dad looking particularly unwell. A paramedic had seen him that morning, and said that he had a strained rib from coughing too much. That evening, Tom and I visited my friends and stayed over the night. The next day, my Dad seemed even worse when we visited on our way to my Grandparents for dinner. When we started to eat, my Mum phoned to say that she’d called an ambulance as she “couldn’t wake him up”. He was taken to hospital as a precaution. We finished the meal before heading off to the hospital. After a quick call to my mum to find out where they were (I assumed A&E), she told me he was in intensive care!

Initially, it was a mystery illness, and we were told he might not make it through the night. It transpired eventually that he had a strain of pneumonia. Since then, it’s been an up-and-down journey. 2 weeks later, he is still critically ill and by no-means out of the woods yet. However, he FINALLY seems to be beating the virus, albeit very slowly.

Twice more since admission he has cheated death – the first time was when a needle had to drain fluid from next to his heart (a procedure done by the consultant “28 times in 30 years”) and a drain attached to his lungs to prevent him drowning from the same fluid.

A slight nick to his liver when swapping a lung drain from one side to the other meant later in the second week, my dad lost 60% of his blood into his stomach and had to have another life saving operation.

We’re now at the stage where the complications so far have been dealt with, we hope there will be no more, and Dad is starting to combat the infection. The doctors are slowly lifting the sedation (he’s been uncoonscious the whole time) and we’re cautiously optimistic, whilst all the time aware that the worst is still a possibilty. But I try not to think about that too much.

2 Responses to “Fingers crossed”


  1. January 12, 2009 at 1:25 am

    Sound like a terrible thing to go though, both for you and your family.
    I really hope that he stays on the bettering way!


Leave a Reply

My Photos


